POPSUGAR Reading Challenge: January

I love books. It’s no secret to anyone who knows me, even to people who don’t know me that well. My friends and family have even said I read “too much”. This year, I decided to be productive with my reading and I made a promise to myself to do the best that I can to complete the 2017 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge throughout the year. To make myself actually do my best to complete this challenge I’ve decided to write a post once a month with an update on the reading challenge so someone can hold me accountable. Last Friday of each month I’ll post an update of where I am in the challenge, what I read and what I thought of the book.

So far, I’ve knocked off three of the challenges and they’re arguably the easiest.

An audiobookourchemicalhearts

Book: Our Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland

First things first, I’m a huge fan of contemporary romance books. They’re my absolute favourite and if you need any recommendations I will give you a list that’s literally 30 books long. I had high expectations for Our Chemical Hearts because of the “John Green meets Rainbow Rowell” description but I can’t say I would add this book to my list of recommendations. Perhaps it was because I was listening to it and not reading a book like I usually do but the story didn’t make me feel anything. I found it too sad at times but the story is based around a tragedy so I guess I asked for it. I didn’t like the main characters, although I loved Lola and liked Henry’s sister whose name I can’t remember. I wouldn’t recommend this book but if I saw someone reading it I wouldn’t knock it out of their hands and tell them to stop wasting their time.

The first book in a series you haven’t read before

11516221Book: The Scorpion Rules by Erin Bow

Again, I am a huge fan of contemporary romance books. I’m not one for the dystopian, sci-fi, fantasy type of book. I tried so hard with The Scorpion Rules and I wanted to love it because I loved the premise but I just couldn’t. I didn’t understand what was happening most of the time and then I would clue in about what happened around 20 pages later. I did start to enjoy the book around 2/3 of the way in. Unlike Our Chemical Hearts, I liked the characters of The Scorpion Rules and I fell in love with Elián. This book was not for me, but I do see how people liked it. If I were a bigger fan of this genre, this book would be one of my favourites.

A book by a person of colour

Book: Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon 18692431

Everything, Everything has been on my radar since it came out and I finally got my hands on it this month after I discovered it was being made into a movie starring Amandla Stenberg and Nick Robinson. I read this book in less than 24 hours, I loved it so much I couldn’t put it down. I fell in love with the two main characters, Maddy and Olly. The illustrations throughout the book were a lovely addition and I liked the short chapters/parts. I felt like the ending was a bit random but I’m not mad at it. I can’t wait to read Nicola’s other book The Sun Is Also A Star and watch the movie of Everything, Everything when it’s released later this year.

For my ratings and to keep updated on what I read, add me on Goodreads! In the comments, leave me suggestions for the rest of the challenge.

Until next time,

-Jenna

One thought on “POPSUGAR Reading Challenge: January

Leave a Reply

