Books I Need To Read Again

Recently Goodreads added a reread feature to their website and this made me think. What books should I read again? When I was a kid, I used to hate rereading books. I just wanted a new story. But now I love to reread books. I reread books that I love and just want to read again (Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour, I’m looking at you) or if I read them when I was younger and I feel like I didn’t get enough out of them because I didn’t understand them. 12 year old me probably didn’t understand the depth of half the books I read in grade 7. So I thought up a list of books that I would like to read again, some time in the future.

715vlp6m-olTo Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

I read this book when I was in grade 8. Just because. I honestly struggled to get through this book, probably because I read it when I was 13. I was looking forward to rereading in grade 10 for my English class, but we read The Book Thief instead, which I’m not mad about. This book is popular and taught in schools for a reason and I hope one day I can get around to reading it again.

Looking For Alaska by John Greenlooking_for_alaska_original_cover

When I read this book, I was in grade 7. It was around the time I started reading more young adult books, with more *mature* content. You all know which part I’m talking about. TFIOS was the first book I read by John Green and my friend and the lady at my local Chapters told me to read this book after I read TFIOS. So right after I finished TFIOS I read this book to try and heal the wound TFIOS left me with. I did enjoy this book a lot but I think I missed the maturity of the book and I want to read it again.

18079527The Impossible Knife of Memory by Laurie Halse Anderson

Laurie Halse Anderson is one of my all time favourite authors. The first book I read by her was Wintergirls, and I was taken by how emotional and real her writing is. This book came out at around the time I had just discovered Laurie’s books. I honestly just want to read it again.

I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson20820994

This is another one of those books that was highly praised and recommended for me to read. I remember not thoroughly enjoying the book until close to the end, and then I loved it. I would really like to reread this book to see if I can really enjoy it before it’s almost over.

18460392All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

This book. Made me cry so hard. I loved it so much and it made me feel so many emotions. I felt happy and sad and completely devastated. And I love when a book makes me feel things. A movie based on this book is coming out soon and I’m hoping they don’t screw up this beautiful story. So to prepare myself I have to read the book again. Armed with a box of tissues.

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell71lklmxqgjl

Again, I read this book when I was way too young. I did love this book while I was reading it and I told all of my friends to read it. I loved the music component added to the book and I would like to read this book again and pick up on things I may have missed. Also, I want to understand Eleanor’s struggles more, now that I’m older and more mature.

514hikoe-jl-_sy344_bo1204203200_It’s Kind Of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

I actually recently read this. And by recently I mean like at some point late last year. I had wanted to read it for a really long time and I finally did and I really liked it. A few weeks ago the movie popped up on Netflix and of course I had to watch it. I watched it and I noticed some differences between the movie and the book, but I still really enjoyed the movie. Then I told myself to read the book again and compare the two. Also, Emma Roberts will forever be able to play a teenager.

Like No Other by Una Lamarche18667862

I can tell you exactly where and when I read this book, but I don’t remember anything about the book. I borrowed an eBook copy from my library two summers ago and I remember eating the book up and loving it a lot. This book has been on the bargain shelves at my local Chapters for months now and next time I go I think I’ll just have to pick up a copy…

11571298-_uy200_Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher

One last time, I read this book when I was too young to understand the depth of it and the entire message. I do remember liking it though, so I’m looking forward to reading it again. I’ve been meaning to reread it for about a year now but I just haven’t come around to it yet. The Netflix series of the book also comes out Friday, so I’m going to try and read it before I watch the series. Even if I have to wait past Friday.

 

Until next time,

-Jenna

Leave a Reply

