POPSUGAR Reading Challenge: March

I’m really glad the last Friday of this month is the last day of the month because it gives me as much time as possible to read as many books as I can for this month’s update. Thanks to March break, I managed to read more than I usually do. This month went really well, I managed to knock off 6 more challenges from the 2017 POPSUGAR Reading Challenge, for a grand total of 11/40.

A book by an author from a country you’ve never visited

Book: The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frankdiaryofayounggirl_definitive

I finished this book in February but it was the day after I posted my February update, so here we are now! I am a huge history nerd and I’m fascinated by WWII history and I love reading books set in this time period, fiction or non-fiction. I’ve been meaning to read this book for a really long time and I finally read it and I loved it. I found it extremely interesting how I was relating to Anne and her life experiences because even though we lived in very, very different circumstances, it’s a reminder that teenage girls all over the world can live similar feelings and experiences. It reminded me that Anne really was a normal girl, living through something really rough. I hope to visit the Anne Frank House in Amsterdam one day and maybe even her hometown of Frankfurt, Germany.

16068916

A book with one of the four seasons in the title

Book: Two Summers by Aimee Friedman

I saw this book at my library and it seemed right up my alley in terms of books I love to read, and I really did like this book. Was it love? Not really, but I still enjoyed reading it. I related a lot to the main character Summer which made me feel a lot of things. Also, I loved the whole dual story line thing going on, it made the story really interesting and the different perspectives on Summer’s summer were cool to read. The ending didn’t give me the answer I needed but it tied up all the ends I wanted knotted.

 

A book set in a hotel24465518

Book: Hotel Ruby by Suzanne Young

Unlike the first two books mentioned in this article, I did not relate to the main character. However, like Two Summers I did find this out of pure luck at my library. I was planning on reading The Shining for this particular challenge, but let’s get real I’m somewhat of a wimp. Hotel Ruby did have a little bit of horror/thrills in it, just enough for me to enjoy it and not too much that I got scared. I wouldn’t say this is one of my favourite books, but it’s different than what I usually read and I did like it. I didn’t hate any of the characters, I liked the different aspects of the book but I was a bit unhappy with the ending. It didn’t go the way I wanted it to, but you can’t have everything.

 

fantastic-beastsA book involving a mythical creature

Book: Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by JK Rowling

Does this qualify as a book? I’m pretty sure it does, so I decided to roll with it. I love love love the Harry Potter world and I loved loved loved the Fantastic Beasts movie. Everything in it was perfect and Eddie Redmayne was so, so, fine. This book doesn’t have traditional mythical creatures like unicorns, but there is a number of fantasy creatures in the story, which you can tell from the title. While reading this, I discovered that I do not enjoy reading screenplays. I missed knowing what was going on in the character’s heads, their thoughts and just in general I wanted more description. I did enjoy the story but if I had not seen the film first, I know I wouldn’t have enjoyed it that much.

A book of lettersperksofbeingwallflower1

Book: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
I first read this book going into Grade 8. When the movie appeared on Netflix I had to watch it and while watching it I realized I remember nothing from the book. Naturally I got my hands on the book asap (thanks Overdrive) and consumed it in about 24 hours. I’m so glad I reread this book at my age now because I understood more of it than I did a few years ago. I love this book so much. I feel like it’s genuine and real, like Charlie is a real person going through real life things, which I know is the whole point of a book. This book is really important for everyone to read, it tackles really important issues that should be read about and talked about.

944704-_uy200_A book with multiple authors

Book: Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan

I had been wanting to read this book for a really long time. It seemed like a book that would be right up my alley. Music and contemporary YA romance, my two favourite things. I hadn’t read Rachel Cohn before and I’ve only read David Levithan’s writing in Will Grayson, Will Grayson. I liked this book a lot less than I thought I would. I really got into it in the last 50 pages, but before that I found it iffy. I liked how music was involved in the book and I really liked Nick and Norah as characters. I thought some parts of the book were really random and had no real meaning (bathroom event between Tris and Nick) but I still enjoyed the book.

Read last month’s update here. Follow me on Goodreads to keep up on my reading habits and leave me ideas in the comments for other books I can read.

Until next time,

-Jenna

PS, I have some really exciting stuff coming next week, so keep your eyes out!

 

One thought on “POPSUGAR Reading Challenge: March

Leave a Reply

