POPSUGAR Reading Challenge: June

We’re halfway there! 2017 is half over, and so is the time to complete this challenge.

Am I anywhere close to halfway completing this challenge?

No!

Thankfully, school is out and now I can devote most of my time to reading and shoving book after book down my throat because that’s what summer vacation is for.

During June, I completed 2 challenges which makes for a grand total of 15/40 challenges. Not bad, not bad.

A book recommended by a librarian

260485381Book: Shooter by Caroline Pignat

I loved, loved, loved this book! I read it in about a day and I had extreme difficulty putting it down. Shooter had been on my radar for a while, but after one of the lovely librarians at my local library told me check it out, I had to. I loved the characters, plot and different ways the story was told (through text messages, diary entries and pictures, to name a few). Caroline Pignat is actually a local author, raised in Ottawa and I’m a fan of her writing, and Shooter did not disappoint.

A bestseller from a genre you don’t normally read

Book: The Gunslinger by Stephen King51evqmjegrl-_sx331_bo1204203200_

It’s no secret I rarely stray from the YA romance genre, so when I picked up this book I applauded myself for taking initiative and start reading genres of books. I read The Gunslinger because of the movie coming out this summer, and because my dad has been telling me to read it for ages. I’m not going to lie, I more or less skimmed the book and didn’t really enjoy it. I feel like I missed a really important part of this book because it just stopped making sense about halfway through. What I have to say about this book: don’t skim it, or you will be totally lost.

 

That’s all for this month! Next month I’ll be back with even more books read for this post and hopefully more posts now that I have loads of free time. Keep up with my other book things on Goodreads!

Bonus! I’ve been blogging for the Ottawa Public Library from April to the end of this month, so be sure to read all my posts here if you want some more!

Until next time,

-Jenna

Leave a Reply

