POPSUGAR Reading Challenge: July

I actually got some of these challenges done this month!

*wild applause in the background*

I wish I had done more, but my online summer school course was a lot more work than I was anticipating. I still have all of August, and I plan to read August away before September comes, because we all know what starts in September. I completed 6 challenges this month, which makes for a grand total of *drumroll* 21/40! Cue Bon Jovi, because we’re (more than) halfway there!

A steampunk novel

Book: Cinder by Marissa Meyer

81jtpggwvmlI had been hearing so much buzz about this book, but I had been putting off reading it for quite some time. Sci-fi/fantasy is not my thing at all, so I thought I would hate it. I made myself read this book, and I regret not reading it earlier. I genuinely enjoyed it and I thought the plot was unique, even though it was based off a fairy tale. The only downside for me is that sometimes the novel got too androidy/scientific for me. If this novel is actually a steampunk novel is debatable, but for now I’m counting it. I also want to read the next book in the series, which is surprising because now I don’t like to read series but I might continue this one.

 

A book with a red spine

Book: Trouble Is A Friend Of Mine by Stephanie Tromly

415gw3nngrl-_sx331_bo1204203200_I got this book online through a Chapters bargain sale, and I enjoyed it. Was it the best book I’ve ever read? No, but it kept me reading. The book is a good mystery/thriller novel with a little bit of romance thrown in, perfect for me. I found there were too many characters and some were just unnecessary or irrelevant until the very end of the novel and by then you had just forgotten about them. Overall, it was an entertaining quick read.

 

A book set in the wilderness

Book: Lord of the Flies by William Golding

lordofthefliesbookcoverOkay, I had to read this one for school, but I’m still counting it! I did read it, and then analysed it and wrote an essay on it, so I have more than read it. I’m a fan of classic novels, and I enjoyed this one a lot. I loved Piggy’s character and hated Jack’s. This was the first “deserted island” book I’ve read and I liked how Golding made the setting so vivid. The only thing I didn’t like about this book was the violence, but whatcha gonna do?

 

A book with a subtitle

Book: Rules for 50/50 Chances by Katie McGovern

23296348I enjoyed this book. It’s not one of my favourites but I really liked the plot and I found it somewhat unique, considering how much “the sick family member” is now seen in YA books. It taught me some things about genetic diseases and I felt somewhat educated. The only thing was I found the main character, Rose, a little irritating. I guess I can’t really blame her, she’s been through a lot. There were parts that were really emotional and I felt it the emotions really hard, which is really impressive to me. I wouldn’t go around raving about this book but it was good enough.

 

A book that’s been on your TBR list for way too long

Book: Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

51u1hwc2byrl-_sy344_bo1204203200_okay okay okay okay. When I first got into YA contemporary lit about 4 years ago, I had always meant to read this book but I just never did. I had heard many great things and I saw it all the time and I finally read it this month. And. I. Loved. It. I now understand why it’s a staple in every YA contemporary collection. I get it! I blew through this book in a day because I could not stop reading it, I loved it so much. I fell so hard for St. Clair and I liked all of the characters. The setting was amazing and even though at some points the plot was cliche and predictable, I still loved it. This is now one of my favourite books.

 

A book that’s a story within a story

Book: The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

thegreatgatsby_1925jacketI had to read this book for school and if I didn’t have to read it, I probably wouldn’t have read it at all. I know to never judge a book by its movie but I found the 2013 Gatsby film incredibly boring and I knew that the book had to be better. I found the book super slow and it never really picked up for me until about halfway through. I don’t get the hype and maybe it’s because I’m just a teenage girl and I don’t get the sophisticated world and “The American Dream”, but never again please. However, I did like Nick’s character and how he narrates the story. I have to give this book something.

Wooh! Shout out to you if you’ve managed to stay with me throughout this post, since it’s a lot longer than my more recent updates. Keep up with me and my book things on my Goodreads and leave me some comments on what to read for the rest of the challenge, or explain to me why The Great Gatsby is so great.

Also, one of my favourite authors ever, Morgan Matson retweeted one of my tweets. Just wanted to put that out there.

Until next time,

-Jenna

Leave a Reply

